Malaysia's Premier Wargame Community Forum
 
HomeWargamers frontGalleryFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
spunkybass
Major
Major
avatar

Posts : 800
Honor Points : 3046
Join date : 2012-02-21

PostSubject: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Wed Jul 04, 2012 4:50 am

I'm not quite clear on how this works. In the Eldar FAQ it says that a Farseer, including Eldrad, can use the psychic disciplines in the rulebook, and for each psychic power purchased from codex:Eldar, generate a new power from Divinatipon or Telepathy.

Does that mean I can pay for Mind War (which is the cheapest power) and swap that for prescience? Effectively, I'm getting a better Guide (12" instead of 6" range) for less points.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://spunkybass.blogspot.com/
wolkenritter89
Private
Private
avatar

Posts : 128
Honor Points : 2273
Join date : 2012-02-19
Age : 28
Location : Segmentum Tempestus

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Wed Jul 04, 2012 5:48 am

you still need to roll on the new powers chart IMO so you may not get the power you wanted (i think).
Back to top Go down
View user profile
lexiss



Posts : 18
Honor Points : 2124
Join date : 2012-03-17
Age : 35
Location : Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Wed Jul 04, 2012 5:56 am

spunkybass wrote:
I'm not quite clear on how this works. In the Eldar FAQ it says that a Farseer, including Eldrad, can use the psychic disciplines in the rulebook, and for each psychic power purchased from codex:Eldar, generate a new power from Divinatipon or Telepathy.

Does that mean I can pay for Mind War (which is the cheapest power) and swap that for prescience? Effectively, I'm getting a better Guide (12" instead of 6" range) for less points.

Yes, I believe that's the case. You still need to buy psychic power from your codex and swap it for power in the rulebook. Your idea is what exactly what I planned to do, buy cheap swap for better one Twisted Evil
Back to top Go down
View user profile
spunkybass
Major
Major
avatar

Posts : 800
Honor Points : 3046
Join date : 2012-02-21

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:15 pm

Thanks. Prescience is a Primaris power, so it doesn't matter what I roll Evil or Very Mad
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://spunkybass.blogspot.com/
CikguDin
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 508
Honor Points : 2702
Join date : 2012-02-24
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Wed Jul 04, 2012 1:33 pm

Looks like all Eldar Farseers think alike.

My next question is, if i buy a spirit stone, that'll make my Farseer a Lvl.2 caster right? This is bcuz Eldrad is considered a Lvl.3 caster due to his spirit stone gear as stated in the FAQ.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
spunkybass
Major
Major
avatar

Posts : 800
Honor Points : 3046
Join date : 2012-02-21

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Wed Jul 04, 2012 4:51 pm

I believe that is correct, sir
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://spunkybass.blogspot.com/
CikguDin
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 508
Honor Points : 2702
Join date : 2012-02-24
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Thu Jul 05, 2012 10:22 am

DE is considered as a battle brother for Eldar. In the BRB, it is stated that battle brothers can benefit from each other's psy-powers among other things.

I know that Prescience can affect any friendly models/units both Eldar & DE.

Can a DE unit now benefit from Fortune?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
spunkybass
Major
Major
avatar

Posts : 800
Honor Points : 3046
Join date : 2012-02-21

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Thu Jul 05, 2012 10:53 am

i think so Evil or Very Mad
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://spunkybass.blogspot.com/
Paxter
Admin
Admin
avatar

Posts : 1444
Honor Points : 3851
Join date : 2012-02-17

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Thu Jul 05, 2012 11:25 am

Yes you can. Benefit from fortune.

Although it will be a bit unfluffy... the whole reason they are in the webway is to hide their physic presence from he who always thirst... which is why in my allied list his abilities will be mainly for him and the enemy Razz
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://wargamersmalaysia.forumms.net
AznJake
Sergeant
Sergeant
avatar

Posts : 415
Honor Points : 2590
Join date : 2012-02-19
Age : 26

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Thu Jul 05, 2012 12:07 pm

By that logic, Tau and Space Marine can benefit from Guide and Fortune too. Not all psychic powers or abilities benefit battle brothers, ie. IG orders & Sanguinary Priest FNP & Furious Charge which were FAQed to only affect units in their own codex. If it is specified "friendly units" and no FAQ corrects it, then yes battle brother benefits from them.

Depending on your interpretation of the rule, if you believe GW intended Fortune/Guide that states it only affects "Eldar unit" to be mean Dark Eldar units too, which in my view is almost as unlikely as my markerlights able to help Space Marines or Eldar.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
dann.toh
Major
Major
avatar

Posts : 776
Honor Points : 2947
Join date : 2012-02-21

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Thu Jul 05, 2012 4:49 pm

AznJake wrote:
By that logic, Tau and Space Marine can benefit from Guide and Fortune too.

But only Dark Eldar are battle brothers with Eldar...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
AznJake
Sergeant
Sergeant
avatar

Posts : 415
Honor Points : 2590
Join date : 2012-02-19
Age : 26

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:21 pm

Oops, I overlooked Space Marine.

Then again, Eldar are battle brothers with DE and Tau...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
CikguDin
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 508
Honor Points : 2702
Join date : 2012-02-24
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Fri Jul 06, 2012 11:37 am

Are Flyers/Flying MCs immune to psychic shooting attacks?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
spunkybass
Major
Major
avatar

Posts : 800
Honor Points : 3046
Join date : 2012-02-21

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Fri Jul 06, 2012 11:41 am

Don't think so, unless it's blast or template
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://spunkybass.blogspot.com/
CikguDin
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 508
Honor Points : 2702
Join date : 2012-02-24
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:13 pm

So, it means that my Farseer Mind War/Psychic Shriek a zooming MCs, izt?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dr-DOOOM!!!
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
avatar

Posts : 1658
Honor Points : 3863
Join date : 2012-02-20

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:14 pm

But if need to roll to hit will still need a 6 to hit unless the psyker has Skyfire rule.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
dann.toh
Major
Major
avatar

Posts : 776
Honor Points : 2947
Join date : 2012-02-21

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:20 pm

ouch! mind war doesn't need to hit... neither does life leech...

good spot din!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
AznJake
Sergeant
Sergeant
avatar

Posts : 415
Honor Points : 2590
Join date : 2012-02-19
Age : 26

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:45 pm

All witchfire powers need to roll to hit for it's effect to work. Life leech(Biomancy) is a witchfire power.

You can Mind War a tyrant without rolling to hit, just be careful of casting psychic powers within 12" of SotW then.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
CikguDin
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 508
Honor Points : 2702
Join date : 2012-02-24
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Fri Jul 06, 2012 1:00 pm

This is unrelated to Eldar, but since its about a similar case, i'll just put it here instead of opening another thread/new topic.

Yes, Mind War is auto-hit. And the same can be said with SW's JOTWW & BA's Bloodlance.

Phew..for a moment there I thought Flyers/Flying MCs r gonna be nigh untouchables.

Comments?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
AznJake
Sergeant
Sergeant
avatar

Posts : 415
Honor Points : 2590
Join date : 2012-02-19
Age : 26

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Fri Jul 06, 2012 1:11 pm

I don't think the consensus is that both Flyers and Flying MCs are OP, it's mostly just Flyers.

The powers you listed, only the bloodlance damages flyers, Flying MCs just have swooping to add to their survivability.

However, flyers beat flying MCs pretty much since shooting one initiates a grounded test not even wounding, where else there's no such weakness for flyers.

Other than that, there's really not much to talk about the powers affecting flying MCs, there's really nothing new if you ask me.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
CikguDin
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 508
Honor Points : 2702
Join date : 2012-02-24
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Fri Jul 06, 2012 5:56 pm

Ok, back to Eldar psy-powers.

Next - is about Overwatch & psy-powers.

So, say a unit charge my Farseer/Warlock, then Farseer'll Mind War the powerfist guy & Warlock will inflict d3 S5 AP4 auto-hits.

A beam-type psy-power will also hit automatically. How I wish my Farseer can cast JOTWW as Overwatch.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
AznJake
Sergeant
Sergeant
avatar

Posts : 415
Honor Points : 2590
Join date : 2012-02-19
Age : 26

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:28 pm

Sorry, If I seem to always try to contradict the possible ideas that arises, but I'm actually just helping by seeing whether it is valid to do so. If not, I'll still do my research but won't raise any possible mistakes as that would just be "to argue for the sake of arguing".

According to the rules, it would seem psychic powers could be overwatched, except when we look more closer.

Page 21, under Resolving Overwatch, last sentence before Overwatch Restrictions.

Paraphrasing: "Weapons and models that cannot fire snapshot, cannot fire Overwatch."

Page 13, under Snap shots, last sentence.

Paraphrasing: "Any shooting attack that does not use a Ballistic Skill - such as the Necron Monolith's portal of exile - cannot be 'fired' as a Snap Shot."

In my opinion, any psychic power that doesn't use BS cannot overwatch/snapshot, such auto-hits and template/blast powers. However, anything that does use BS can do so, ie. witchfire powers, smite, psychic shriek etc..

Back to top Go down
View user profile
CikguDin
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 508
Honor Points : 2702
Join date : 2012-02-24
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Fri Jul 06, 2012 7:19 pm

Well, maybe Mind War will be subjected to debate regarding Overwatch, but Warlocks' Destructor can definitely be fired during Overwatch.

Page 52, 2nd last paragraph: "Template weapons can fire Overwatch, even though they cannot fire Snap Shots."

**Off topic again..Damn! I just realised that a full 15-orks Burna Boys can potentially hit up to 45 x S4 AP5 auto-hits on Overwatch!!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
AznJake
Sergeant
Sergeant
avatar

Posts : 415
Honor Points : 2590
Join date : 2012-02-19
Age : 26

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:40 am

I'm not arguing the validity of Warlocks' Destructor , sorry if I didn't mention the exception to template shooting attacks.

But first and foremost, I doubt whether psychic powers can be used in for Overwatch. As of in the 6th ed. rulebook, all psychic powers are separated into types and each of them are "manifested" in a specific phase. As for witchfire powers, it is manifested on the psyker's shooting phase.

This then questions the fact whether such powers can be used outside of that phase, ie. during overwatch. As of now there's nothing that states shooting attacks can only be used in the shooting phase, likewise nothing that states witchfire powers are allowed or disallowed during overwatch.

I've also looked at other forums discussing this particular problem, they have not a reached proper conclusion as they are still much divided in opinion and a FAQ is needed dearly for this matter.

On a related note, can a psyker Death or Glory using his power?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
spunkybass
Major
Major
avatar

Posts : 800
Honor Points : 3046
Join date : 2012-02-21

PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   Sat Jul 07, 2012 6:53 am

Back to Warlock Destructor on Overwatched, I think it's allowed as it's always on and psyker never needs to cast for it. In effect it's simply a shooting weapon, very much like shooty gifts Chaos Daemons get.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://spunkybass.blogspot.com/
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?   

Back to top Go down
 
Psychic powers from rulebook - how does it work for Eldar?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» can you name this work wheel ?
» Any one do body work or repainting?
» Work super crazy today, Thank God for GR
» 2006 Work and Play for sale.
» Rhino's work truck

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Wargamers Malaysia :: Warhammer 40,000 :: Rules & Questions-
Jump to: