Malaysia's Premier Wargame Community Forum
 
HomeWargamers frontGalleryFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Assault Vehicle

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
dann.toh
Major
Major
avatar

Posts : 776
Honor Points : 2947
Join date : 2012-02-21

PostSubject: Assault Vehicle   Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:14 am

I don't know if I'm reading too much into this, but can everyone just take a look at the last part of the 'Assault Vehicle' entry?

"... even on a turn that the vehicle was destroyed."

Does this imply that... you cannot assault after a vehicle is destroyed, unless you have an Assault Vehicle special rule?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
spunkybass
Major
Major
avatar

Posts : 800
Honor Points : 3046
Join date : 2012-02-21

PostSubject: Re: Assault Vehicle   Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:24 am

That is a good point! I think it does imply exactly that. So this kills the discussion in the other thread about how wierd it is that SM can still charge out of destroyed Rhinos ...
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://spunkybass.blogspot.com/
Dr-DOOOM!!!
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
avatar

Posts : 1658
Honor Points : 3863
Join date : 2012-02-20

PostSubject: Re: Assault Vehicle   Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:30 am

i think it applies to those transport vehicle get wrecked on the turn it moves la.
e.g...
- skimmer moving flat out and failed dangerous terrain test.
- transport ramming an enemy vehicle and wrecked itself in the process.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
LordAK
Lieutenant
Lieutenant


Posts : 1957
Honor Points : 4143
Join date : 2012-02-20

PostSubject: Re: Assault Vehicle   Wed Aug 08, 2012 12:20 pm

yup.. agree with Joe. That is how I understand it from the very 1st time I read it.

There's no way you can charge in enemy turn. So the only thing that make sense with the phrase is if in your turn, your Assault Vehicle performs Tank Shock --> Destroyed (by Death or Glory or any other causes). In this case, you can now assault.

So in conclusion, yes Dann.. I think you've been reading too much into it Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
dann.toh
Major
Major
avatar

Posts : 776
Honor Points : 2947
Join date : 2012-02-21

PostSubject: Re: Assault Vehicle   Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:05 pm

Dr-DOOOM!!! wrote:

- skimmer moving flat out and failed dangerous terrain test.
- transport ramming an enemy vehicle and wrecked itself in the process.

this is the logic i'm contending with is that moving flat out and tank shocking does not allow transported units to disembark, thus unable to assault.

so if what you say is true, basically what this means is:
if a Stormraven opts to 'hover' and moves flat out into enemy lines, gets immobilized, the transported unit gets to charge?

similarly, a land raider tank shocks/rams an enemy unit, gets wrecked/destroyed, the transported unit gets to charge?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dr-DOOOM!!!
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
avatar

Posts : 1658
Honor Points : 3863
Join date : 2012-02-20

PostSubject: Re: Assault Vehicle   Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:13 pm

As per RAW, yes they can as long it is an assault vehicle.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
LordAK
Lieutenant
Lieutenant


Posts : 1957
Honor Points : 4143
Join date : 2012-02-20

PostSubject: Re: Assault Vehicle   Thu Aug 09, 2012 5:40 am

If just immobilised --> cannot assault as the unit is still in the vehicle.
But if destroyed/wrecked --> yes can Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dr-DOOOM!!!
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
avatar

Posts : 1658
Honor Points : 3863
Join date : 2012-02-20

PostSubject: Re: Assault Vehicle   Thu Aug 09, 2012 8:52 am

haha.. last time in 5th ed. Orks in a Trukk if ram an enemy vehicle and get wrecked, cannot assault the following assault phase. Now we can! Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
dann.toh
Major
Major
avatar

Posts : 776
Honor Points : 2947
Join date : 2012-02-21

PostSubject: Re: Assault Vehicle   Thu Aug 09, 2012 9:54 am

Dr-DOOOM!!! wrote:
haha.. last time in 5th ed. Orks in a Trukk if ram an enemy vehicle and get wrecked, cannot assault the following assault phase. Now we can! Smile

actually i think you still can't... cuz a trukk is open-topped - not an 'assault vehicle' Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dr-DOOOM!!!
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
avatar

Posts : 1658
Honor Points : 3863
Join date : 2012-02-20

PostSubject: Re: Assault Vehicle   Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:01 am

the rule book says that open topped vehicles are assault vehicle. Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile
LordAK
Lieutenant
Lieutenant


Posts : 1957
Honor Points : 4143
Join date : 2012-02-20

PostSubject: Re: Assault Vehicle   Fri Aug 10, 2012 1:19 am

Yup.. Open-topped = assault vehicles. Same as DE. Though now passengers suffer S4 hits when destroyed instead of S3. Last night my DPrince destroyed a Raider full of Wyches. 7 dead from the explosion just like that. Ouch!!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dr-DOOOM!!!
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
avatar

Posts : 1658
Honor Points : 3863
Join date : 2012-02-20

PostSubject: Re: Assault Vehicle   Fri Aug 10, 2012 3:15 am

yup, that's why i'm moving my Orks out of the battlewagons.
against Dann, when he pop 1 battlewagon with 20 boys, easily dealt 9-10 wounds.

battlewagons are now only good for Nobs or Meganobs.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Assault Vehicle   

Back to top Go down
 
Assault Vehicle
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Main Roads Police checking Weight of Vans and Capacity of Towing Vehicle
» Buying a 20 year old vehicle
» Will a Slow Moving Vehicle sign make my mower street legal?
» Polaris Defense Awarded Contract for Low Speed, Electric Vehicle (EV)
» Polaris Defense Enters Low Speed Vehicle Market

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Wargamers Malaysia :: Warhammer 40,000 :: Rules & Questions-
Jump to: