Malaysia's Premier Wargame Community Forum
 
HomeWargamers frontGalleryFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Vindicare Shieldbreaker Shot

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
CikguDin
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 508
Honor Points : 2702
Join date : 2012-02-24
Age : 41

PostSubject: Vindicare Shieldbreaker Shot   Thu Dec 27, 2012 5:43 am

Not sure if this has been asked here before, sorry for any redundancy..

The way i understood it was i shoot, i allocate the wound, i succesfully made the to-wound roll, then if you dont have a lookout sir or fail the lookout sir or whatever the model IMMEDIATELY loses all invulns, then he can use a cover if it has one or whatever else it might have left (FnP..etc..)

Am I right?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
LordAK
Lieutenant
Lieutenant


Posts : 1957
Honor Points : 4143
Join date : 2012-02-20

PostSubject: Re: Vindicare Shieldbreaker Shot   Thu Dec 27, 2012 5:47 am

Does shieldbreaker causes any wounds?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
CikguDin
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 508
Honor Points : 2702
Join date : 2012-02-24
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Vindicare Shieldbreaker Shot   Thu Dec 27, 2012 5:50 am

Or is it supposed to be like this? (quoted verbatim from dakka dakka)


Quote :
1) Vindicare Hits

2) Vindicare wounds

3) Vindicare's controlling player allocated the wound to Character X

3a) Character X's invulns are broken

4) Character X gets to LoS the wound he was allocated

5) Joe Schmo from the unit gets reallocated the wound

5a) Joe Schmo's invuln is broken

So now 2 models' inv. svs are broken..


@AK: Yes, in addition to causing AP1 wound, the target loses his inv. sv.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
dann.toh
Major
Major
avatar

Posts : 776
Honor Points : 2947
Join date : 2012-02-21

PostSubject: Re: Vindicare Shieldbreaker Shot   Thu Dec 27, 2012 6:17 am

CikguDin wrote:


1) Vindicare Hits

2) Vindicare wounds

3) Vindicare's controlling player allocated the wound to Character X

3a) Character X's invulns are broken

4) Character X gets to LoS the wound he was allocated

5) Joe Schmo from the unit gets reallocated the wound

5a) Joe Schmo's invuln is broken


RAW-wise, this would be the way to go... but for the sake of the game (and pure logic), we should remove point 3a)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
CikguDin
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 508
Honor Points : 2702
Join date : 2012-02-24
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Vindicare Shieldbreaker Shot   Thu Dec 27, 2012 6:31 am

Dann-te got scared izt? Twisted Evil
Back to top Go down
View user profile
dann.toh
Major
Major
avatar

Posts : 776
Honor Points : 2947
Join date : 2012-02-21

PostSubject: Re: Vindicare Shieldbreaker Shot   Thu Dec 27, 2012 6:43 am

no la, it just doesn't make sense.

"Look out sir!"
"Phew! Luckily I didn't get hit by that... wtf happened to my shield?"
Back to top Go down
View user profile
CikguDin
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 508
Honor Points : 2702
Join date : 2012-02-24
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Vindicare Shieldbreaker Shot   Thu Dec 27, 2012 6:55 am

Bugger la Dann..your fluff is so hillarious I splurted my drink after reading it!! Laughing Embarassed

On another note, if a Wraith is targeted by the shield breaker shot & loses its inv. sv, does it have any armour sv or izt now butt naked?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
LordAK
Lieutenant
Lieutenant


Posts : 1957
Honor Points : 4143
Join date : 2012-02-20

PostSubject: Re: Vindicare Shieldbreaker Shot   Thu Dec 27, 2012 8:30 am

So Shieldbreaker did cause wounds. I thought it was like a markerlight. Once hit, remove shield. Nothing to scare about lah.

About the Wraith, if I'm not wrong, they don't have any armour in their profile, so no saves..
Back to top Go down
View user profile
spunkybass
Major
Major
avatar

Posts : 800
Honor Points : 3046
Join date : 2012-02-21

PostSubject: Re: Vindicare Shieldbreaker Shot   Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:19 am

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought LOS was allocated before you roll to save?
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://spunkybass.blogspot.com/
LordAK
Lieutenant
Lieutenant


Posts : 1957
Honor Points : 4143
Join date : 2012-02-20

PostSubject: Re: Vindicare Shieldbreaker Shot   Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:35 am

yup.. Joe Schmogot to make armour saves as usual. The issue here is who will lose invul, the Character or Joe --> Joe

IMO, it would be more effective if the Shieldbreaker didn't cause any wound ala Markerlight --> cannot be LOSed.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dr-DOOOM!!!
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
avatar

Posts : 1658
Honor Points : 3863
Join date : 2012-02-20

PostSubject: Re: Vindicare Shieldbreaker Shot   Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:39 am

y use my name? need to play royalty u know? Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
CikguDin
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 508
Honor Points : 2702
Join date : 2012-02-24
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Vindicare Shieldbreaker Shot   Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:43 am

Cuz you r da chosen one! cheers
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dr-DOOOM!!!
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
avatar

Posts : 1658
Honor Points : 3863
Join date : 2012-02-20

PostSubject: Re: Vindicare Shieldbreaker Shot   Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:45 am

lagi need to have royalty fees la. Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
CikguDin
Sergeant
Sergeant


Posts : 508
Honor Points : 2702
Join date : 2012-02-24
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Vindicare Shieldbreaker Shot   Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:05 pm

Quote :
yup.. Joe Schmogot to make armour saves as usual. The issue here is who will lose invul, the Character or Joe --> Joe

The Primary target (or Joe Schmoe if he passes the LOSr) wouldn't get any armour sv cuz the shot is AP1.

So not only he'll suffer a wound with virtually no armour sv, he automatically & immediately loses any invul sv that he has. He could only make any cover sv or FnP if he has that ability.


So, what's the verdict? Do both the Primary & Joe Schmoe suffer or will the shieldbreaker shot only affect Joe Schmoe?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
LordAK
Lieutenant
Lieutenant


Posts : 1957
Honor Points : 4143
Join date : 2012-02-20

PostSubject: Re: Vindicare Shieldbreaker Shot   Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:10 pm

Obviously Joe of course. It would make no sense otherwise.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
AznJake
Sergeant
Sergeant
avatar

Posts : 415
Honor Points : 2590
Join date : 2012-02-19
Age : 26

PostSubject: Re: Vindicare Shieldbreaker Shot   Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:45 pm

If we REALLY want to go RAW on this, the first question we should ask is,

Is Vindicare Assassin's 'Deadshot' - a Precision Shot?
Spoiler:
 

Quote :
So, what's the verdict? Do both the Primary & Joe Schmoe suffer or will the shieldbreaker shot only affect Joe Schmoe?

Anyhow, there's no "verdict" here to be made, it's down to you and your opponent; follow RAW or your own fair interpretation of it because both are correct. RAW doesn't necessarily make the assassin OP, he's just one guy with only a minimum 5 shots to make, how many character's/models' invulnerable saves he's gonna destroy? Against Chaos Daemons, there's none.

I think when we discuss rules here, it's merely to write down our thoughts on the rules or confirm them when it's clear and supported, not to 'pass statutes or lay judgement'.


Quote :
Obviously Joe of course. It would make no sense otherwise.

It's possible to argue that the Shieldbreaker was powerful enough to even affect the Primary, OR, that if you can imagine, that Joe only had enough time to stand right in front of the Primary, so close that it affected him too since you know, bullets are very fast.

I've used him a couple times against Marcus (mostly Eldar now), shieldbreaker's not easy to wound with a 4+. It's either Hellfire or Turbo Penetrator rounds most of the time.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Vindicare Shieldbreaker Shot   

Back to top Go down
 
Vindicare Shieldbreaker Shot
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Huge Bear Shot by Hunters
» Big Shot Images Senior Game Summaries
» Nike Sling Shot HL
» Shot going straight right
» The Pac Man is Shot: When Should He Hang Up the Gloves?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Wargamers Malaysia :: Warhammer 40,000 :: Rules & Questions-
Jump to: